July 26 2009 7 26 /07 /July /2009 23:06
Kings cast
NBC's TV show Kings is "a contemporary re-telling of the timeless tale of David and Goliath. This series is an epic story of greed and power, war and romance, forbidden loves and secret alliances -- and a young hero who rises to power in a modern-day kingdom." (copied from NBC's official page on Kings).

I had seen the previews on TV a couple of months before it aired, and I was really excited to see the show. I must say I wasn't disappointed.

Although I know close to nothing about the real David VS Goliath legend (again, I have a very selective memory on all things history), I love this show.

First, what's more glamour and interesting than getting a behind-the-scene view of a royal family? I'm not British, so I don't have a King/Queen to "serve" (or whatever the correct word is) but everyone wonders what makes up the daily lives of the Royal people. Besides, there's this guy from Eragon (the older brother of the hero in Eragon) who plays David, and Leighton Meester's boyfriend playing the Prince (he's also Nate's mean cousin in Gossip Girl.) I mean, two hot guys in one show, what else can you ask for? There's also the Queen played by Susanna Thompson (I liked her character in Once & Again, but I think she's even better as the Queen... very
interesting role) and the great return of Macauley Culkin playing the unfathomable nephew.

Atop of a great cast, the show gathers all that you can expect from a good show: politics, impossible romance, power games, coups & plots, action...

If you haven't watched it yet, the first season just ended yesterday so catch the reruns this summer if any!


About David & Goliath: David was apparently the second king of Israel. Know more about David & Goliath, on Wikipedia's article.

comments